Online Library

Have You Filled the Bucket Today?
Oi Frog!
What’s the Time Grandma Wolf?
The Tiger Who Came to Tea
Giraffes Can’t Dance
The Singing Mermaid
Ruby’s Worry
Supertato
Biscuit Bear
The Gruffalo
Five Minutes’ Peace
Wherever You Go…I Go
Don’t Call Me Sweet!
Star in the Jar
Little Monkey
Handa’s Surprise
Elmer
A New House for Mouse
Kitchen Disco
Don’t Look in This Book
Amelia Fang and the Memory Thief

Synopsis of Books:

Cats sit on mats, hares sit on chairs, mules sit on stools and gophers sit on sofas. But Frog does not want to sit on a log. Jam-packed with animals and silliness, this original rhyming story is guaranteed to get children giggling!

There's a wolf in the woods and everyone says: "She's big and she's bad, she's old and she's hairy. Best leave her alone, she's mean and she's SCARY!"


When the little animals hear that a big, bad wolf lives in their forest, they decide to get a closer look. Squirrel, Crow, Badger, and the other animals sneak up on Grandma Wolf's house, where they find her fast asleep. Brave Piglet shouts, "What's the time, Grandma Wolf?" and the fun begins. All the animals take a turn asking the question, creeping closer and closer.

As the excitement mounts, children will delight in discovering the surprise Grandma Wolf has in store for the curious animals.


Ken Brown's vivid watercolors perfectly complement this engaging story. What's the Time, Grandma Wolf? is also based on a popular classic game. Readers can look on the back flap for the rules.

The doorbell rings just as Sophie and her mummy are sitting down to tea. Who could it possibly be? What they certainly don't expect to see at the door is a big furry, stripy tiger!

 

This warm and funny picture book story is perfect for reading aloud, or for small children to read to themselves time and again. First published in 1968 and never out of print, it has become a timeless classic enjoyed and beloved by generations of children.

The magic begins at teatime!

A funny, touching and triumphant picture book story about a giraffe who finds his own tune and confidence too, with joyful illustrations from Guy Parker Rees and a foiled cover.

The Singing Mermaid is a delightful tale from the stellar picture book partnership of Julia Donaldson and Lydia Monks, creators of What the Ladybird Heard. With brilliant rhyming verse, bright and distinctive illustrations, this story is loved by children and parents alike.

Meet Supertato! He's always there for you when the chips are down. He's the supermarket superhero with eyes everywhere - but now there's a pea on the loose. A very, very naughty pea. Has Supertato finally met his match?


The much-loved character from Sue Hendra and Paul Linnet, the bestselling, award-winning creators of Barry the Fish with FingersI Need a Wee and Norman the Slug with the Silly Shell.

Perfect for fans of Oi Frog!

When Horace bakes a biscuit in the shape of a bear, little does he know that his edible treat is going to turn into Biscuit Bear! For in the middle of the night, when all is quiet, that is exactly what happens, and Biscuit Bear decides that it is time he made some friends of his own. So, with flour, sugar and butter he does just that. In fact, he makes a whole circus of friends and the fun begins...

A stunning 30th anniversary edition of a family picture book favourite, this is the story of Mrs Large the elephant – who just needs five minutes of peace and quiet away from her boisterous children! So, taking refuge in the bathroom, she fills herself a hot, foamy bubble bath and takes in a tray of her favourite breakfast and the morning paper. But there’s never a dull moment with the Larges, and it soon becomes clear that mum's quiet time is to be very short-lived! Family life is beautifully observed in this warm and funny modern classic from Jill Murphy, one of Britain's most treasured author-illustrators.

I'm a giant monster, with sharp, sharp claws.
I've got big, spiky teeth and loud, loud roars.
Which is why I say, to everyone I meet . . .
CALL ME SCARY . . . DON'T CALL ME SWEET!


Everyone thinks that little monsters are cute and cuddly, but this monster's grumpy and grouchy. Honest! He does REAL monster stuff, like stomping around and eating squishy, squelchy food like bug eye stew. He's brave, too - he's not scared of ANYTHING. Not even big, hairy ogres . . .

. . . Wait, is that a big, hairy ogre? HELP!

Up high, in the dark, dark sky . . . a message: LOST, ONE SMALL STAR.

When a little boy stumbles across a special star, he puts it in a jar and takes it on adventures. Together with his big sister, he takes his special treasure with him everywhere – to the cinema, to the swimming pool and even to the toilet!

 

But the poor star is sad and misses its home . . . Can the little boy and his big sister find a way to send the star safely back?

 

Sarah Massini's artwork glows with warmth and humour and perfectly captures the friendship between the two siblings in this warm-hearted bedtime book. Told from the perspective of the big sister, this is the perfect picture book for siblings to share and read together. The short text and warm tone is ideal for toddlers aged 2 years and up.

Except that there's someone following close behind. Someone with claws and stripes and rather sharp teeth . . .

Little Monkey is a beautiful, funny and empowering picture book from bestselling author-illustrator, two times CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal nominee and BookTrust Time to Read favourite, Marta Altés, which shows us that the world is a big, wild and wonderful place where anything is possible.

A modern classic named one of the best culturally diverse picture books in the UK, this is the story of Handa, who's part of the Luo tribe in south-west Kenya. Handa decides to take seven pieces of delicious fruit to her friend, Akeyo, who lives in the neighbouring village. But as Handa wonders, I wonder what fruit Akeyo will like best?, a series of sneaky animals steal something from Handa's basket, which she's carrying on her head... When Handa reaches Akeyo, will she have anything left to offer her friend?

Richly-illustrated, brimming with luscious fruit and cheeky wild animals, this mouth-watering story is for the youngest of readers. In the best pantomime spirit, children will long to tell Handa what's happening right behind her!

The grey elephants all love him, but he soon starts to wonder what it would be like to be just the same as them...

Full of colour, wisdom and pathos, little readers will love this classic tale at bedtime.

Deservedly a modern classic, with over ten million copies of his books sold worldwide, Elmer’s subtle message, that it is OK to be different, resonates with children across the world. Elmer the colourful patchwork elephant has been a nursery favourite since 1989.

At night when you are sleeping
There's a party in your house,
It's a pumping, jumping, funky bash
When all the lights go out . . .


When the sun goes down, the Kitchen Disco starts up - and all the fruit in the fruit bowl come out to play. There are lemons who break-dance, tangerines who twirl and some very over-excited apples.

Kitchen Disco is a zany and hilarious rhyming picture book for young children, featuring a stunning holographic foil spread in the middle of the book.

This unusual rhyming journey through a world of dynamic story starters, was created in collaboration with twelve illustrators, to excite and engage everyone from avid book lovers, to the most reluctant readers. Children at home will ask for the book again and again, reliving their adventure across every contrasting page. In school environments this book is used by teachers in Key stages 1 and 2 to engage reluctant readers and writers, inspiring them to write creatively and map stories using the fun and disruptive content. Other more able writers in school extend their stories into fully illustrated poems. This book is a great tool for anyone who wants to reignite the imaginative wonder in the mind of their child/student.

The third book in the bestselling, gorgeously gothic and wickedly funny Amelia Fang series – perfect for readers of 7+

 

Meet Amelia Fang! Everyone’s favourite little vampire.

 

Amelia and her friends are taking part in a competition to visit Pumpkin Paradise Park – the most bloodcurdingly brilliant theme park ever! All they have to do is sell as many cookies as possible.

But the creatures of Nocturnia have begun to act very strangely . . . No one can seem to remember anything – including their own names or even Amelia’s big birthnight party!

Where have everyone’s memories gone? And how can Amelia save them when they have all forgotten who she is?

 

Also available in the Amelia Fang series:

 

Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball
Amelia Fang and the Unicorn Lords
Amelia Fang and the Half-Term Holiday

Amelia Fang is perfect for fans of Witch Wars, The Worst Witch and Isadora Moon

When she's not trying to take over the world or fighting sock-stealing monsters, Laura Ellen Anderson is a professional children's book author & illustrator, with an increasing addiction to coffee. She spends every waking hour creating and drawing, and would quite like to live on the moon when humans finally make it possible. Laura is the creator of EVIL EMPEROR PENGUIN and illustrator of WITCH WARS, as well as many other children’s books. The bestselling AMELIA FANG is her first series as author-illustrator.